Targets Task Force

LATEST: Latest update report released (29 October 2019) IMPORTANT – please read in the context of the original targets report released 2017 and the first annual update from 2018 to understand the full context for each sector.

BACKGROUND: The intention to form the RUMA Targets Task Force was first announced in May 2016 by RUMA. The group convened for its inaugural meeting in December 2016. Its specific aim was to deliver on the Government objective of identifying sector-specific targets for the reduction, refinement or replacement of antibiotics in animal agriculture. It delivered these targets in the RUMA Targets Task Force Report 2017 at the RUMA conference on 27 October 2017. You can watch a video about how the task force developed the targets and arrived at its conclusions below. The work of the Task Force was officially recognised by the medical and veterinary communities when it won the Prescribing and Stewardship category at Public Health England’s 2018 Antibiotic Guardian Awards. The Targets Task Force: One Year On report was released in October 2018, and is downloadable here RUMA TTF 1 year on – Full Report FINAL

The Targets Task Force – Terms of Reference describe the aims and responsibilities of the Task Force.

The members of the  original RUMA Targets Task Force are (by sector alphabetically):


  • Hugh Broom, Surrey beef farmer and NFU Livestock Board member
  • Dr Elizabeth Berry, specialist cattle vet and British Cattle Veterinary Association Council member


  • Di Wastenage, Devon dairy farmer and Royal Association of British Dairy Farmers Council member
  • Dr Elizabeth Berry, specialist cattle vet and British Cattle Veterinary Association Council member


  • Richard Kempsey, free-range egg farmer and Technical Director of Stonegate
  • Paul McMullin, Consultant Veterinarian to the British Egg Industry Executive


  • Dr John Webster, Technical Director at the Scottish Salmon Producers Association
  • Ronnie Soutar, specialist fish vet and President of the Fish Veterinary Society


  • Paul Jeavons, Worcestershire game farmer and Chairman of the Health and Welfare committee of the Game Farmers` Association
  • Christian Blake-Dyke, specialist poultry and game bird vet from Poultry Health Services


  • Richard Lister, Yorkshire pig farmer and Chairman of the National Pig Association
  • Mark White, President of the Pig Veterinary Society and Chairman of PVS Medicines Sub-committee

Poultry Meat

  • Thomas Wornham, Hertfordshire poultry producer
  • Daniel Parker, specialist poultry vet and Veterinary Adviser to the British Poultry Council


  • Charles Sercombe, Leicestershire sheep farmer and Chair of the NFU Livestock Board
  • Dr Fiona Lovatt, specialist sheep vet


  • Fraser Broadfoot, Veterinary Research Officer, Veterinary Medicines Directorate
  • Javier Dominguez, Veterinary Director and Head of Science, Evidence and Research, Food Standards Agency
  • John Fishwick, President, British Veterinary Association
  • Donal Murphy, Head of Technical and Regulatory Affairs, NOAH
  • Jess Sloss, Technical Manager, Red Tractor Assurance

Chairing and Organisation

  • Gwyn Jones, Chair, RUMA (Chair of Targets Task Force)
  • John FitzGerald, Secretary General, RUMA (Secretary)
  • Catherine McLaughlin, Vice Chair, RUMA
  • Amy Jackson, Communications Officer, RUMA
site powered by penguins